California’s 3 Classes of E-Bikes

California Governor Jerry Brown signed AB 1096 into law on October 7, 2015, distinguishing lower speed e-bikes from bicycles and mopeds.

Section 312.5 was added to the California Vehicle Code and defines electric bicycles (e-bikes) and 3 classes of e-bikes.

California’s definition of an electric bicycle:

According to CVC 312.5, an “electric bicycle” is a bicycle equipped with fully operable pedals and an electric motor of less than 750 watts.

3 Classifications of electric bicycles:

Here are the 3 classes:

  • Class 1: A “class 1 electric bicycle,” or “low-speed pedal-assisted electric bicycle,” is a bicycle equipped with a motor that provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling, and that ceases to provide assistance when the bicycle reaches the speed of 20 miles per hour.
  • Class 2: A “class 2 electric bicycle,” or “low-speed throttle-assisted electric bicycle,” is a bicycle equipped with a motor that may be used exclusively to propel the bicycle, and that is not capable of providing assistance when the bicycle reaches the speed of 20 miles per hour.
  • Class 3: A “class 3 electric bicycle,” or “speed pedal-assisted electric bicycle,” is a bicycle equipped with a motor that provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling, and that ceases to provide assistance when the bicycle reaches the speed of 28 miles per hour, and equipped with a speedometer.

 

Related: e-bike bike path restrictions.

Get in Touch

Call us today for a free, confidential, no obligations, consultation.